CHARBEL HABER Lebanese musician, performer & composer, born in Beirut on June 1, 1978. Lives and works in Beirut. Co-founder and member of Lebanese post-rock group Scrambled Eggs since 1998. Haber’s work encompasses film, video art, and theater, both as a solo artist and as a member of Scrambled Eggs. The latter have composed the soundtracks for long-feature films A Perfect Day and Je Veux Voir by Lebanese directors Khalil Joreige & Joanna Hadji Thomas. They have also contributed incidental music to Lebanese director Ghassan Salhab’s nominated feature The Last Man.


As a solo artist, Haber has collaborated with Lebanese video artists Lamia Joreige and Akram Zaatari. He has composed the music and performs in Rabih Mroueh and Lina Saneh’s theater performance Photo Romance(2010). He is presently involved in the preparation of a musical tribute to Egyptian guitar virtuoso Omar Khorchid, an 8 electric guitar orchestra soon to be released on Italian record label Sagittarius A-Star. 

Haber is an active contributor to Lebanese free improvisation festival Irtijal since 2002, and core member of MILL (Musique Improvisée Libre au Liban) association since 2002. Founder of experimental music record label Those Kids Must Choke in 2004. The label has released 6 albums to the present day. Cofounder(with Al Maslakh) of experimental record label Johnny Kafta’s Kids Menu in 2010. Member of Lebanese free improvisation large ensemble, Moukhtabar Ensemble (2005-2007). Member and co-founder of free improvisation groups BAO, XEFM, The Johnny Kafta Anti-Vegetarian Orchestra and psychedelic Arabic music trio Malayeen. Haber has collaborated with musicians and artists such as Gene Coleman, Justice Yeldham & The Dynamic Ribbon Machine, Jean Pallandre, Laurent Grappe, Tadahiko Yokogawa, Stéphane Rives, Christine Sehnaoui, Radivision, Rohdri Davies, Jean Francois Pauvros, The Ex… He has also recorded and released collaborations with notable artists from the fields of free rock and improv, including Michael Zerang, Joseph Ghosn’s Discipline, David Stackenas, Mats Gustafson, Annette Krebs, Eddie Prevost and Sabu Toyozumi.